ICPR 2012 gesture recognition workshop (November 10-11)

Deng Wan

Alfonso Nieto Castañón (1st place) Michal Hagara and Jakub Konečný (2nd place) Jun Wan and Shuang Deng

Demonstration competition

November 10, Tsukuba Science Information Center

[Accepted demos]

10 am-11 am: Demonstration set up.

11 am-12:00 pm: Preview of the posters and demonstrations by the organizers and the committee.

12:00-1:30 pm: Lunch break

-- publicly open part of the event --

1:30 pm-3:30 pm: Talks by the presenters.

3:30 pm-4:30 pm: Review of the posters and demonstrations by the committee and the public.

4:30 pm-5:30 pm: Deliberation of the committee.

7 pm: Dinner invitation for the committee and the demonstrators


November 11, Tsukuba Congress Center

-- Section 1: Review of the quantitative evaluation (ChaLearn gesture challenge hosted by Kaggle) --

9:30 am - Overview of the challenge -- Isabelle Guyon

9:50 am - First place: Motion Signature analyses -- Alfonso Nieto Castañón, Argentina

10:10 am - Second place: One-shot learning gesture recognition using HOG/HOF features -- Jakub Konečný, Michal Hagara, Slovakia

10:30 am - Third place: One-shot-learning gesture recognition using 3D mosift and bag of features -- Jun Wan, Shuang Deng, China

10:50 am - Break

-- Section 2: Review of the qualitative evaluation (demonstration competition taking place Nov. 10) --

11:00 am - Overview of the demonstration competition -- Vassilis Athitsos

11:20 am - First place: Giving a Hand to Kinect -- Nikolaos Kyriazis, Iason Oikonomidis, Antonis A. Argyros, Greece.

11:40 am - Second place: A Kinect NUI for 3D Medical Visualization. Luigi Gallo, Alessio Pierluigi Placitelli, Giuseppe De Pietro, Italy.

12:00 am - Third place: Multi Hand Pose Recognition System using Kinect Depth Sensor. O. Lopes, M. Pousa, S. Escalera and J. Gonzalez, Spain.

12:20 am - Wrap up

-- Section 3: Posters and demonstrations

12:30 pm - Poster and demonstration viewing

14:00 pm - Ajourn

Posters - Particle-based descriptors -- Wu Shen, Jiang Feng, Pan Wenping, Gao Yang

For other posters, see the demonstration competition.



Isabelle Guyon, Clopinet, Berkeley, California

Vassilis Athitsos, University of Texas at Arlington, Texas, USA


Demonstration committee

Alex Balan, Microsoft, Redmont, WA, USA

Hugo Jair Escalante, IANOE, Puebla, Mexico

Paul Doliotis, University of Texas at Arlington, Texas, USA

Jeffrey Margolis, Microsoft, Redmont, WA, USA